Beverly Ott and Olivier Hauville made a deliberate choice of returning to the countryside and the farm. Olivier studied economics and political science at the Université d'Aix en Provence. Beverly is American and studied Social Work in the USA. They met doing humanitarian work while in Chad .

In 1990, they began the associaiton ECHOPPE, (Exchange for the Organisation and the Promotion of Small-Petit Entrepreneurs) which works today in Togo, Benin and in Central Africa. Their action aims at helping the most disadvantaged persons to escape poverty through economic supports (small loans provided without guarantees for the poorest of women) in addition to programs aimed at the reinforcement of the small farm movement via the improved production and commercialisation of farm products with actors from the cities in an idea of creating "fair trade" markets. Today, thousands of persons are helped thanks to the 25 years of work done by ECHOPPE in West Africa.

Beverly and Olivier continue today to work with Africa, but also in France. They are the co-founders of the Platform for Fair Trade in France. In addition, the have created the store "Terre et Terroirs" in Angers (Les Ponts de Cé) where, as in Africa, they fight to save the small farm culture via the ideas of an "ethical" economy. They have two children, Anna and Stéphane.

Beverly Ott et Olivier Hauville ont fait le choix de la campagne et la ferme.Olivier a fait des études en Sciences Politiques et Économiques à l'Université d'Aix en Provence. Beverly est américaine et a fait des études en Sciences Sociales au USA. Ils se sont rencontrés dans le travail humanitaire au Tchad.

En 1990, ils ont lancé l'O.N.G. ECHOPPE, (Échange pour l'Organisation et la Promotion des Petits Entrepreneurs) qui travaille aujourd'hui au Bénin, Togo, et le Centrafrique. Cette action vise à aider les plus démunis à sortir de la pauvreté grâce au soutien économique (petits prêts sans caution pour les femmes les plus démunies) au renforcement de l’agriculture paysanne à travers de la production et la commercialisation des produits avec les villes à travers du commerce équitable. Aujourd'hui, des milliers de personnes sont soutenues, grâce à cette action.

Beverly and Olivier continuent aujourd’hui à travailler avec l’Afrique mais également en France. Ils sont les co-fondateurs de la Plateforme pour le Commerce Equitable ainsi que du magasin Terre et Terroirs à Angers (Les Ponts de Cé) où, comme en Afrique, ils luttent pour la sauvegarde de l’agriculture paysanne et une économie solidaire. Ils ont deux enfants, Anna et Stéphane.